NORTH CAROLINA CLE REQUIREMENTS
Whether you’re an experienced or newly admitted North Carolina attorney, here’s what you need to know about the NC CLE rules and how to get your continuing legal education requirements fulfilled with a Knowledge Group CLE Bundle.
MCLE Requirements: All attorneys admitted to practice in North Carolina shall complete twelve (12) credit hours of continuing legal education including at least two (2) credit hours of professional responsibility. An additional minimum of one (1) CLE hour on substance abuse awareness or debilitating mental conditions shall be earned once every three years.
Compliance Deadline: December 31
Reporting Deadline: February 28
Compliance Cycle: Annual
Approval of Programs: The Knowledge Group does not automatically submit CLE application for all our programs in North Carolina. Attendees seeking approved credits should send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org for more information.
Program Format: The Knowledge Group LIVE Webcasts qualify as live programs in North Carolina. There is no limit to the number of credits a North Carolina attorney can earn via live webcast. View our list of LIVE Webcasts.
The Knowledge Group Recorded Webcasts qualify as on-demand programs in North Carolina. Beginning 2020 compliance year, North Carolina attorneys may complete their 12-hour CLE requirements via on-demand programs. View our list of Recorded Webcasts.
Attendance Reporting Procedure: The Knowledge Group submits attendance report for approved courses to North Carolina Board of CLE.
For Newly Admitted Attorneys: Newly admitted attorneys in the state of North Carolina must complete the 12-hour New Admittees program. The program includes professional responsibility, professionalism, and law office management. Professionalism hours for newly admitted attorneys may NOT be taken online.
For more information, contact North Carolina State Bar Board of CLE at: