CA Attorneys: 2019 MCLE “Late Deadline” Is June 30
by: The Knowledge GroupJune 24, 2019
Attorneys licensed to practice in California completed their minimum continuing legal education requirement this January and reported by 1 February 2019, if their last names start with A-G.
California groups attorneys by last name into three reporting groups, to stagger the three-year reporting cycle.
Those who missed the 2019 deadline can still keep their good standing with the Bar, but will be charged a $75 penalty for late reporting, which ends this month.
California requires at least 25 CLE credits—and all can be taken online.
Special requirements within the 25-credit cycle include:
- 1 credit hour in Elimination of Bias.
- 4 credit hours in Legal Ethics.
- 1 credit hour in Competence Issues.
California attorneys may select courses in a range of media, to complete 25 CLE credit hours every 3 years with at least 12.5 units qualifying for participatory credit. Attorneys may not carry CLE credits over from their previous cycles.
California attorneys must self-report CLE credits, for now…
Attorneys must report compliance via their profiles on the California Bar’s website. And look for the California Bar to update compliance rules with an audit provision. This means course providers may soon be reporting California CLE attendance. To that end, the state has started developing a platform for providers to report attorney attendance. As always, we’ll keep you posted.